Tools
AI tools, no fluffAI tools, explainedAI tools, explained kindly
What's new, what it costs and what it does with your data. Easiest first.What's current, what it costs and what it takes from your family's data, sorted easiest first.Popular tools, one at a time. See what each one costs and what it keeps about you. Easiest first.
We look at what's current, new and in the news, and report what each company's own policies say. No one pays to be on this page. How we check
All tools
| Tool | Price | Trains on your data | Opt-out | Min. age | For you | More |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Adobe Express | Free planPaid from $9.99/mo | No | Not needed | 13+ | Easy start | |
The school version has safe search and AI guardrails built in for K-12 students.
What it collects
Couldn't confirm yet:
Per Adobe’s privacy policy (checked Oct 17, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsAdobe's easy online design tool for social posts, flyers, short videos and presentations, with Firefly AI for text-to-image and quick edits like background removal.
What it collects, in Adobe’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Canva (incl. Magic Studio / Canva AI) | Free planPaid from $144/yr | Couldn't confirm yet | Yes | 13+ | Easy start | |
School-issued Canva Education accounts don't show ads and don't use student work to train AI.
What it collects
Not stated:
Per Canva’s privacy policy (checked Oct 17, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsAn easy drag-and-drop design tool for posters, slides, social posts, cards and videos, with AI tools (Magic Studio/Canva AI) for text-to-image, background removal, resizing and writing.
What it collects, in Canva’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Claude | Free planPaid from $17/mo (billed yearly) | Yes | Yes | 18+ | Easy start | |
It's an adult-only service, so it's not a choice for kids, but it's useful for your own work.
What it collects
Couldn't confirm yet:
Not stated:
Per Anthropic’s privacy policy (checked Oct 17, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsAnthropic's AI assistant for writing, research, analysis and coding, on web, desktop and mobile. It can create documents, slides and files and connect to other apps.
What it collects, in Anthropic’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Gemini Notebook (formerly NotebookLM) | Free planPaid from $4.99/mo | No | Yes | 13+ | Easy start | |
A free study helper that sticks to the material you give it. Personal data isn't used for training unless you send feedback.
Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsGoogle's AI notebook (renamed from NotebookLM in July 2026) that answers questions, makes summaries, study guides and audio overviews, all based on sources you add. It's free with a Google Account, and paid plans raise limits. It isn't a search engine and can still get things wrong, so check its answers against your sources. Teen accounts get stricter content rules and some features are 18+.
What it collects, in Google’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Google Read Along | Free planNo paid plan | Not stated | Not stated | Not publicly stated | Easy start | |
For younger kids, used with a parent. Google says your child's voice stays on the device and the app has no ads or in-app purchases. Use a Family Link account at home.
What it collects
Not collected:
Per Google’s privacy policy (checked Oct 18, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsA free Google app and website where children read stories aloud to an on-screen reading buddy, Diya, who listens and helps with tricky words.
What it collects, in Google’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Google Safe Browsing site status | FreeNo paid plan | Not stated | Not stated | Not publicly stated | Easy start | |
A free, no-sign-up check you can show the whole family. Pair it with the habit of going to official sites directly.
What it collects
Not stated:
Not collected:
Per Google’s website (checked Oct 21, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsGoogle's free lookup that tells you whether Google Safe Browsing currently flags a website as dangerous (the same list behind Chrome and Gmail warnings). It checks a whole site against Google's list; it can't vet a specific message, judge whether an offer is honest, or promise a site is safe. 'No unsafe content found' only means Google hasn't flagged it.
What it collects, in Google’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Google Workspace (Docs, Drive & more) | Free planPaid from $1.99/mo (Google One storage) | No | Not needed | 13+ | Easy start | |
Kids under 13 need a Family Link account, and school accounts are controlled by the school, not you.
What it collects
Couldn't confirm yet:
What we checked: Google’s help pages (Oct 17, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsGoogle's free online office tools: Docs (writing), Sheets (spreadsheets), Slides (presentations) and Drive (file storage), plus Gmail. Many schools use the Education version.
What it collects, in Google’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Grammarly | Free planPaid from $12/mo (billed yearly) | Yes | Yes | 13+ | Easy start | |
It reads everything typed where it's installed, so check the training setting on your kids' accounts.
What it collects
Per Grammarly’s privacy policy (checked Oct 17, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsA writing helper that checks spelling, grammar and tone as you type in your browser, email and documents, and can rewrite or generate text with AI.
What it collects, in Grammarly’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Khanmigo (Khan Academy) | Free for teachersPaid from $4/mo | Couldn't confirm yet | Not stated | 18+ (teens through a parent) | Easy start | |
One of the few AI tools here with real parental oversight (chat history and safety alerts) for $4 a month, though it's US-only.
What it collects
Not stated:
Per Khan Academy’s privacy policy (checked Oct 18, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsKhan Academy's AI tutor. It guides students through homework with hints and questions instead of giving answers, and includes planning tools for teachers and parents.
What it collects, in Khan Academy’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Malwarebytes Scam Link Check | FreeNo paid plan | Not stated | Not stated | 18+ | Easy start | |
A quick second opinion before anyone in the family taps a link from a text or email. No account or download needed.
What it collects
Not stated:
Not collected:
Per Malwarebytes’ help pages (checked Oct 21, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsA free Malwarebytes web page where you paste a suspicious link and get a verdict (safe, dangerous or unknown), the reasons, and a screenshot of the page so you don't have to open it. It can't check text messages, phone numbers or files, and an 'unknown' or 'safe' result is not a guarantee: brand-new scam sites may not be known yet.
What it collects, in Malwarebytes’ words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Microsoft 365 (Personal / Family) | Free planPaid from $1.99/mo | No | Not needed | 13+ for AI features | Easy start | |
One Family plan covers up to six people, but only the subscription owner gets the AI features.
What it collects
Couldn't confirm yet:
What we checked: Microsoft’s help pages (Oct 17, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsMicrosoft's office suite (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, OneNote) plus OneDrive storage and Defender security, with Copilot AI built into the apps on paid plans.
What it collects, in Microsoft’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Microsoft Clipchamp | Free planPaid from $9.99/mo | No | Not needed | Not publicly stated | Easy start | |
If you pay for Microsoft 365 Personal or Family, the premium features are already included. Note that child Microsoft accounts may be blocked from signing in.
What it collects
Couldn't confirm yet:
Not stated:
Per Microsoft’s help pages (checked Oct 18, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsMicrosoft's video editor for the browser and Windows. It has templates, screen and webcam recording, auto-captions and AI auto compose, with free 1080p exports.
What it collects, in Microsoft’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Microsoft Reading Coach | Free planNo paid plan listed | No | Not needed | Not publicly stated | Easy start | |
For younger kids, used with a parent. Free, and Microsoft says voice stays on the device and student data isn't used to train its AI. Microsoft still recommends an adult supervises.
What it collects
Not stated:
Not collected:
Per Microsoft’s help pages (checked Oct 18, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsA free Microsoft reading app where children read aloud and get feedback on tricky words. They can read library passages or build AI-made stories by picking a character and setting.
What it collects, in Microsoft’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Perplexity | Free planPaid from $17/mo (billed yearly) | Yes | Yes | 13+ | Easy start | |
Teens can use it without an account and there are no parental controls, so a conversation works better than a setting.
What it collects
Not stated:
Per Perplexity’s help pages (checked Oct 17, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsAn AI search engine: you ask a question and it writes an answer with numbered links to its sources. Also offers deep research and file/app creation on paid plans.
What it collects, in Perplexity’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
StopNCII.org | FreeNo paid plan | Not stated | Not stated | 18+ | Easy start | |
If an intimate image of you is being shared or used to blackmail you, this lets you act without sending the image anywhere. For your kids, use Take It Down.
What it collects
Per StopNCII.org’s privacy policy (checked Oct 21, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsA free tool from the UK charity SWGfL's Revenge Porn Helpline for adults whose intimate images are shared, or threatened to be shared, without consent. Your device makes a digital fingerprint (hash) and partner platforms use it to block or remove matching copies. It's adults-only and you can only submit images of yourself. It can't reach non-partner sites or encrypted chats, and it may miss edited copies.
What it collects, in StopNCII.org’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Suno | Free planPaid from $8/mo (billed yearly) | Yes | No opt-out offered | 13+ | Easy start | |
There are no parental controls, and no opt-out from AI training is described. Talk about uploading voices and other people's music. Heads up: Suno says it uses uploads, including voice recordings, to train its AI, and its policy offers no opt-out. Teens 13–17 need your consent.
What it collects
Not stated:
Per Suno’s privacy policy (checked Oct 18, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsAn AI music app that makes full songs (vocals, lyrics and instruments) from a text description, with tools to edit and remix.
What it collects, in Suno’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
SynthID Detector | FreeNo paid plan | Not stated | Not stated | Not publicly stated | Easy start | |
Useful for checking a suspicious photo, video or voice clip, like a 'family emergency' message. Still confirm by calling the person directly.
What it collects
Per Google’s website (checked Oct 21, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsGoogle's free checker that tells you if an image, video or audio file carries a SynthID watermark, meaning it was made with AI from Google or partners like OpenAI, NVIDIA and Kakao. Google says it's 'not a general AI detector': it can't spot AI content from companies that don't use SynthID, so 'no watermark found' doesn't prove something is real. You need to sign in, and daily limits apply.
What it collects, in Google’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Take It Down (NCMEC) | FreeNo paid plan | Not stated | Not stated | Not publicly stated | Easy start | |
Know this exists before you need it. Don't ask your child to send you the image: it should be hashed from the device it's on. For threats or sextortion, also report to the CyberTipline.
What it collects
Not collected:
Per NCMEC’s website (checked Oct 21, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsA free, anonymous NCMEC service for anyone with nude or sexual images or videos of themselves taken before age 18. Your device makes a digital fingerprint (hash) of the image, and participating platforms use it to find and remove copies. The image is never uploaded. It can't remove content from sites that don't take part or from encrypted chats, it may miss edited copies, and it won't tell you if a match is found.
What it collects, in NCMEC’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Android scam protections (Google Messages Scam Detection) | FreeNo paid plan | Yes | Yes | Not publicly stated | Some practice | |
Free protection that's already on many Android phones. Check that Spam protection is on in Google Messages, and know the newest features are still rolling out.
What it collects
Not collected:
Per Google’s website (checked Oct 21, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsScam warnings built into Android phones: Google Messages flags likely scam texts from unknown senders, some phones warn about scam messages in other chat apps and during calls, and a new opt-in Enhanced protection mode adds smarter link checks. Google says it 'may not catch every scam'. It isn't an app you download, it doesn't work on iPhone, and what you get depends on your phone model and country.
What it collects, in Google’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
CapCut | Free planPaid from $19.99/mo | Yes | No opt-out offered | 13+ | Some practice | |
There are no stated parental controls and no stated AI-training opt-out, so talk with your teen about what they upload. Heads up: CapCut says it uses uploaded content to train its AI, and its policy offers no opt-out. Teens 13–17 need your consent.
What it collects
Not stated:
Per CapCut’s privacy policy (checked Oct 17, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsA phone and desktop video editor popular for TikTok/Reels-style clips, with templates, auto-captions, effects and AI video generation.
What it collects, in CapCut’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
ChatGPT | Free planPaid from $8/mo | Yes | Yes | 13+ | Some practice | |
Teens can use it with your permission, and linked parental controls let you adjust settings without reading their chats.
What it collects
Per OpenAI’s privacy policy (checked Oct 17, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsA general-purpose AI chatbot. You type or talk, and it answers questions, explains topics, drafts and edits writing, makes images, and helps with homework, planning and coding.
What it collects, in OpenAI’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Content Credentials Verify | FreeNo paid plan | Not stated | Not stated | Not publicly stated | Some practice | |
A no-sign-up way to check the history of a photo or video. Treat 'no credentials' as unknown, not fake.
What it collects
Couldn't confirm yet:
Not collected:
What we checked: Adobe’s website (Oct 21, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsA free web tool from the Adobe-led Content Authenticity Initiative that shows a file's Content Credentials: who made it, with which tools, whether AI was used, and how it changed over time. No account needed. It can only show credentials that were attached and survived; most images online have none, and screenshots or re-uploads often strip them. Missing credentials don't mean a file is fake, and credentials don't prove the content is true.
What it collects, in Adobe’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Google Gemini | Free planPaid from $4.99/mo | Yes | Yes | 13+ | Some practice | |
Kids under 13 can use it only if you turn it on in Family Link, so it's a setting worth checking.
What it collects
Per Google’s help pages (checked Oct 17, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsGoogle's AI assistant, on the web, in an Android/iPhone app, and built into Chrome and Google apps. It answers questions, writes, summarizes, makes images and video, and can act in connected Google apps.
What it collects, in Google’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Microsoft Copilot | Free planPaid from $9.99/mo | Couldn't confirm yet | Not stated | 13+ | Some practice | |
Microsoft's own pages changed in Aug 2026 and no longer state whether teen chats are used for training, so check settings.
What it collects
Couldn't confirm yet:
Per Microsoft’s help pages (checked Oct 17, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsMicrosoft's AI assistant on the web, Windows, phones and inside Word/Excel/Outlook. It answers questions with sources, writes and rewrites text, makes images, and can help with multi-step tasks.
What it collects, in Microsoft’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Notion | Free planPaid from $10/mo (billed yearly) | No | Not needed | 14+ | Some practice | |
It can hold a shared family calendar, chores and trip plans in one place.
What it collects
Not stated:
Per Notion’s privacy policy (checked Oct 17, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsAn all-in-one workspace for notes, to-do lists, documents, wikis and simple databases, with Notion AI to write, summarize and search your pages.
What it collects, in Notion’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Wabi 2.0 | FreeNo paid plan | No | Not needed | 13+ | Some practice | |
A brand-new group AI assistant. Wabi says it doesn't train on your conversations, but its ads tracking and broad permissions are worth a family conversation first.
What it collects
Per Wabi’s privacy policy (checked Oct 21, 2026). Checked Oct 21, 2026Sources & full detailsA free AI assistant from Wabi, Inc. that you can add to group chats with family or friends to plan, set reminders, and build small 'mini-apps' together, and that can connect to your email, calendar and other accounts. It's new and can make mistakes; it isn't a parental-control or safety tool, and Wabi describes no teen settings. Connecting accounts and location gives it a lot of personal data.
What it collects, in Wabi’s words:
Spot something out of date? Tell us at hello@gigglebyte.ai | ||||||
Tap Details on any row for why it matters to you, everything it collects, and our sources.
How we check
How we check: every fact comes from the company's own policy or help pages, linked on each tool with the date we checked it. If we couldn't confirm something, we say so. We cover notable new tools in The Safe Click.
Not legal advice. These are plain-English summaries of each company's published policies on the date shown. Policies change, so check the company's current policy before you decide.